August 27, 2013

  • Schooled on the Playground

    Did anyone ever learn more in life than on the playground? I learned some of the best lessons there. Like: Never play red rover if you're the smallest, you will be targeted. Or: Never wear a skirt to play, you'll inevitably show your My Little Ponies.

    Today I took the kids (Ava, 7, and Isaiah, 4) to the park. As they played on the playground, I took in all the lessons life offered me in those moments. Lessons about people. It isn't quite so practical and direct as it was when I was a kid, but the education is useful nevertheless.

    When we got there, the swings were empty. Not a soul touched them and I couldn't resist. I spent at least 15 minutes there, swinging alone as the kids climbed and slid in front of me. It was awesome. I can never resist a good swingset. And you know what happened after I got off? By the time we left, 3 moms (all of which had seen me on it) sat for a swing, too. You can call me a trailblazer, I won't mind.

    After that, I sat on a bench at a distance from the kids with the latest Smithsonian magazine opened to an article about Al Pacino. And ya know, I was the only parent there who sat (gasp) at a distance. I had the fleeting thought, "I wonder if they think I'm being negligent because I'm not as "involved" as they are?" Negligent... hovering. It's all in the spin. I squashed the thought.

    There was a difference between how the fathers treated their kids compared to the mothers. The father who was by himself with his adorable, curly-haired blonde toddler let her run around without shoes. He had her shoes, in fact he carried them the whole time. She just didn't want to wear them and he was cool with it. The moms? They were quick to put shoes back on if one ever fell off. Splinters, guys. You can get hurt.

    (I liked the bare feet)

    And then came the bane of some mothers' existence: the skinny mom. She had one toddler running and an infant on her chest in a carrier. Every mom on the playground suddenly crossed their arms. Perhaps not in a defensive move, but definitely in an "I'm covering up my imperfect belly" move. Shoulders became tense. The air was even less jovial. All because of self esteem or the lack thereof. Now, I'm not going to insult anyone here, one of the main reasons I'm in counseling right now is to try and help build a healthy sense of self esteem back up. But it was a damn shame that all it took was seeing someone perceived as perfect walking by for it to ruin the day for so many. And it sucks for Miss Perfect, too. She did nothing wrong, but it's a sure thing she's hated on.

    A mosquito bit my big toe.

    My imagination roamed...my park bench was at the entrance to a nature trail. Behind me was woods. What if someone grabbed me from the dark woods. People could sneak there easily...if they are Indians, you know, the Native American kind (I'm pretty sure I'm not supposed to say Indians anymore). Or maybe if they are Ninjas. I would definitely not hear them stealthily moving amongst the trees and vegetation. So let me recap where my imagination took me: Ninjas and Indians were going to grab me from the woods behind my bench. Is that racist? It's OK. My husband is black. You can't be in an interracial relationship and be racist. Proven fact. (If you could see me now, I'm trying so hard not to laugh at my bad self.)

    My education wasn't complete when we left the park. Oh no, the worst of it was in the car with the kids.

    Ava: Mom, do just kids get their tummies pierced?

    Me: Uhm, what? No, kids don't get their tummies pierced. It's kind of a grown up thing, actually.

    Ava: How old do you have to be to get your tummy pierced?

    Me: You're not supposed to get it done until you're like, 18. But sometimes some parents go with their daughters when they are like, 16. And they sign a form saying it's ok. But it's not really ok. Not with me. Because belly rings aren't that great. They get infected a lot. It hurts to get it done. And? They're supposed to be sexy. Are kids supposed to be sexy?

    Ava: I can't believe you just said that word.

    Isaiah: Do people get earrings in their peepees?

    Ava: NOOOO!!!

    Isaiah: Mommy, do people get earrings in their peepees?

    Me: Well...Yes, I believe that some people have done that before. But that's pretty ridiculous, don't you think?

    Isaiah: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Ava: GROSS!!!

    Me: ~sigh~

    Ava: Wait, that means they had to show someone else their privates to get it done. stunned

     

    Isn't that special.

     

     

Comments (4)

  • Pee pee piercing is just wrong. Going barefoot on the other hand is awesome.

  • My daughters haven't asked me those questions about piercings yet. None other than ear piercings, thank God. I do not look forward to having to explain any of the others

  • @firetyger -  I didn't expect it. It's the first time the subject has come up for us, too. It was a doozy. Ha.

  • Kid conversations are the best! The hard questions are the funniest. =p
    I really only go to the park with my mommy friends from church. They're all nice and friendly and there's never tension with them. It gives me people to talk to because I'm not a hoverer either. My husband is though!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories