August 26, 2013

  • The Responsible (Slightly Hungover) Teacher

    I decided last week that today would be the beginning of our school year. Yes, I decided (we homeschool, so I get to do that). I probably decided it because I'd finished purchasing all of my materials and curriculum etc and thought, hey, let's get it started in here. Woohoo. Uh-huh. (That was a little Black Eyed Peas serenade for ya.) I'd already done allthelegalthings (never thought I'd appreciate anything about Texas, but at least they didn't regulate the hells bells out of homeschooling. Thank God for small favors) and we were set up as a legit North Carolina school. Can I get another woohoo? No? Not so much? Yeah, I'm not feeling that one either. I don't like being in a public registry as an official NC "private school," but that's the game we have to play and I'll move my pawns as necessary. So long story short, we began our first day today.

    What that also means is that today, I spent A Long Time in front of my printer. Why? Holy atomic pile, Batman! The forms. See, I might have filed allthelegalthings with alltheregulatoryagencies, but I didn't update my new school year file yet. Curriculum lists. Daily logs. Attendance records. HSLDA membership (my account number changed this year, does that change every year?). The NC state homeschool law (I print it and keep it laminated with my proof of legal status). North Carolina school ID number and proof of registration of our "private school" with the state. Etc. There was more, but this is boring and you get the gist. Homeschooling is not just a matter of deciding you want to do it and *boom* you're doing it. Not if you want to keep doing it (you get busted for doing shit like that? And you're in the next HSLDA court report because they have to help your ass in a lawsuit, while your kid is in public school and you fight for your right to get him back home). Suffice it to say, my brain is done.

    OH but wait, I have classes to teach. Dangit! So we started the first day of second grade with Ava and preschool with Isaiah. I had no idea he'd be into it, but I have stuff for him. I'm not going to make him do it every day, but I see that he wants to be a part of it this year. Man, it's a challenge to do them both at the same time. I definitely drank my coffee this morning. ALOTofit

    So now, it's lunchtime. We finished school for the day. I think I finished my business end of the process (but fried brain isn't exactly the best computer for determining that). Next? I need to find a UPS drop off location. Because this damn Koa wood hair stick broke the first effing time I tried to use it. Piece of crap.

    The reviews on Amazon lied. Or? I got a dud. Now I gotta return it. HASSLE! Ugh.

     

    *It was probably a bad idea to begin the school year the day after the MTV awards. Why? Because I have a badass tradition of drinking a whole bottle of champagne whilst watching them, which makes them even fricking funnier. I do this every year and it's required. Last night was no exception. Bonus: I drink it straight from the bottle. Classy!

Comments (7)

  • An MTV Champaign serenade, how regal and I missed it.  Oh well, I can catch it in bits and pieces on YouTube.

  • LOL, what can we say you one CLASSY lady Princess.  Home schooling sounds like its more headache that worth, so I congratulate you on a successful first day.  Hope to hear additional positive things as the school year progresses. 

  • @seven45 -  Uhm, I totally AM classy. AND a lady!

    Dude, homeschooling will always be worth the headache and occasional challenging days. Why? My kids are worth the investment. Their one on one, tailored to fit them education is worth the investment. Our relationship is worth the investment. Their childhood is worth the investment.

    Boom and stuff.

  • I would never doubt ya Princess.

    I agree their childhood is worth it!

    BOOM AND STUFF, lol, not sure I get that reference, dagnabbit!!!

  • @seven45 -  People who are cool (and classy) say boom when they make an earth-shattering point. I'm sure of it. LOL

    I must go now, my lovely children are literally screaming at each other at the top of their lungs. So. That's pretty cool. I love it! I don't care! (That was a serenade, too - clearly I do care)

  • snickering . . . "earth shattering"  One thing that is certain, you have a sense of humor.  I mean come on, Princess Butterfly, that is pretty wild.

    Oh, I don't  mind, serenade away.

  • Oh and another thing, I thought it was BOOYAH that was said when something "earth shattering" was said, but then again, I'm old school, yada yada yada. . . ok, not a serenade but what can you expect from a ex-military dude.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories