February 6, 2014

  • Race Love is Race Hate

    Is that title confusing? Maybe by the end of this it won't be.

    I have had this topic burning in me for a very long time but it's just so caustic and no matter which "side" you are on, you may have feelings about it. Maybe hard feelings. That's ok. I'm compelled to write anyway, posessed. It's like the words are pouring out of my hands and I'm not editing them out for once.

    I can't stand race pride. I don't care which race you are. I wonder if my perspective on this is because I'm white and I'm married to a black man and my children are a beautiful mix of the both of us. So because I see my children, I see clearly in an instant what I wish the world would see:

    We are all mixed.

    There is no such thing as black pride.
    There is no such thing as white supremacy.

    I recognize that there are other colors, other histories and blends out there. But I'm sticking with what I know, the examples that are before me and surround me everywhere.

    When I see black men and women arguing with each other, trying to empower each other about their strong black histories, it sounds like racism to me. Not because they are degrading another race, but because they are defining humankind by the color of their skin. I read today on a facebook share (oh facebook, you creator of all things argumentative) the words of an impassioned woman which said that all education and knowledge, all philosophies, all wisdom came from her strong black heritage.

    Why does it come from her black heritage? I assume she meant that the origination of humankind was in Africa. And that's the problem with these color pride (racist) enchantments. The people before us and the people who will come after us will be one thing - human. Just as they were and always will be. Did humankind originate in Africa? That's what we're taught, yes. Does that make everyone African? If so, then I'm as African as they are - as white and European as my more recent ancestry is.

    To elevate oneself in this way is to denigrate the other. To say you are superior because of your color is to say another is inferior because of theirs. That is the definition of racism.

    Whether it's white supremacy or black pride.

    Neither of which have a place in my childrens' lives, nor do they have a place in mine. Because hate doesn't belong here.

    We all come from one family, our ancestry is the brotherhood of humanity. Our bond is not our color, it's our blood.

Comments (7)

  • This is the first thing you've written that makes sense.

  • I understand what you're saying and for the most part, I agree. I too, have taken issue with Afro-centrism and black pride. Maybe it's because I'm a (not 100%) black man married to (who on the surface appears to be) a white woman. ;-) My children are evidence of this ever narrowing spectrum of ethnicity. And if there's anything I want them to learn is that they don't have to be anything but themselves to be happy with who they are.

    I mean, I'll be the first to point out that intelligence and innovation is not exclusive to one race or culture. So the whole notion that one race is better than another is utter foolishness.

    However, I don't think race love equals race hate across the board. I see nothing wrong with recognizing the accomplishments on one's ancestors. As long as that recognition is not used as a boot to the neck or tool of oppression.

    • If the recognition is based on their color it IS hate. To have pride in your family and their accomplishments should not be because of a skin color.

      It's the difference between saying I love myself because of my breasts and I love myself including my breasts. One is divisive. The other is unifying.

  • Not necessarily. Well, let me rephrase that. To say I love myself because I'm black would be very prejudice. I'm not speaking of loving oneself BECAUSE of race. I'm speaking of acknowledging and appreciating the accomplishment of those within a particular subgroup to which you also belong.

    It would be akin to saying that you are proud to count yourself among others in the medical field who have played a key role in moving preventative methodologies forward. This doesn't necessarily disparage other vocations.

    • My chosen vocation is not equitable to my genetic makeup. Never would I praise myself for the contributions of others.

  • Praise and appreciation are very different. I agree, you shouldn't praise yourself for what others have accomplished. But appreciating what others before you have done can be quite motivating.

    And I know we could debate semantics all day, but I think you get my point. :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories