November 13, 2013

Comments (5)

  • When it comes to winter I am more of a Grinch. Sure it is all pretty and fun to play outside in the snow, but as a roofer, working in the cold and snow just plain sucks.... like a Hoover 2000.

    • A small amount of snow stuck around. I was glad because my kids have never experienced snow. Ever. So I took them outside and, since the snow on the car was still fluffy, grabbed armfulls of it and threw it in the air over the kids' heads. It "snowed" on them. Then I made snowballs and gave, possibly threw, them to my kids. My 7 year old ran through the yard, exclaiming, "it's crunchy!" They had snow in their hair and pink fingertips. So I was glad for this taste of a real winter for them. They won't forget it. And I'm thrilled. We're not in Texas anymore!

  • Sounds magical! While I've been IN snow on more than one occasion, I've only SEEN it snow once in my entire life... we were up at Lake Arrowhead one winter and the morning we were supposed to leave, it snowed overnight and everything was covered in beautiful white puffy powder. We went outside to check the conditions and it started to snow again. For a SoCal native who's used to the beach, this was like something out of a dream. I must've stood there for a good half hour. There was so much snow, we got snowed in and I had to call my job and let them know I wouldn't be in. lol

  • I am glad your children got that experience! The past few years we have had quite heavy snow once or twice a year. I love it in most respects, though not when it has started to melt and refrozen, making ice which causes one to slip up whilst trying to walk places. This is mostly just embarrasing for me but my grandad ended up seriously hurting both his legs last year. Though that is partly his own fault for trying to do everything himself rather than ask for help getting shoppng etc.

  • that's about what it looked like here last week

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories