June 12, 2013

  • In the Sticks

    It turns out, our neighborhood is extremely rural. How did I not know that? Because it looks like a regular neighborhood, but with great natural backyards (MY favorite, I like trees where nature made them). The issue? Well, it turns out internet and cell service.

    I'll be just like someone else I know, standing outside on my phone. Only, I won't be by a busy road.

    So we have to get "rural" services for internet. Which won't happen until Monday. And we only had one option, because no other company has accessed our road at all.

    Interesting facts (at least to me): Standing outside our house, you can hear gunfire. This would normally scare me. But it's from the marine base. We can also see aircraft when they practice. Like.

    Negative fact: WTF are the huge spiders they have out here?? *cry*

     

     

Comments (8)

  • No easy access to Internet?  You should move.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - RIGHT!! It's ok. We just have to get that crap you have to get if you live in the sticks... like we apparently do now. 

  • The kind that you bundle with satellite services, because cable doesn't exist out here. LOL!

  • Uh! Oh! Well - maybe you will be able to tune in the aliens better out in the sticks!

  • Ah yes, the reassuring sounds of being close to a training facility. It IS interesting. 

  • @WaitingToShrug - 3 round bursts. Always. 

  • RE: Internet Service - That might turn out to be a good thing. We had DirecTV many moons ago and were moving just as they were starting to introduce bundled internet service. They sent us a flyer that demonstrated how with their dish (which we owned outright), we could essentially take our cable and internet service with us regardless of our location. Theoretically, if we went camping in the middle of nowhere we'd still be able to stream Netflix. lol The only problem at the time was that the DL/UL speeds were horribly slow. I'm sure that's improved greatly by now.

    RE: Spiders - This is why I live in the city. City spiders are not normally reminiscent of alien abductors from 80's horror movies.

  • @MyxlDove - We have Dish Network and don't own the dish itself outright (it's way too expensive and proprietary to boot. They upgrade their dishes every so often so by the time you own it, you'd be outdated. I don't think most purchase the dish anymore). When we compared the bandwidth and speed of what we had with cable internet in TX (and we didn't pay for the crazy fast stuff, even so, it was right at $50/mo) to what we'll be getting here, it's supposedly actually a little faster here. We'll see. Monday. And we leave the hotel finally today (forevermore) which means no more wifi until then, too. So I may be more MIA.
    I can't wait to sleep in my own king sized bed. This full sized bed sucks. Especially next to a 6" tall man who outweighs me by almost 100lbs and would probably like to permanently attach himself to me in bed (holy crap, why are arms so heavy around me??).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories