May 15, 2013

  • 5 Women to Admire, A Girl's Birthday Tale

    When I saw this story online, I knew I had to share it. Here's the link to the original.

    Jaime Moore is a photographer, and when her daughter turned 5, she needed new inspiration for her birthday celebratory pictures. Nothing against Disney Princesses (or Barbie), but it was just so cliche, and frankly, they weren't tales of real women. So instead of dressing her up as a favorite Princess, they chose 5 notable females to emulate. Real women with real stories. Because anything is possible, and these women proved it. These are the pictures they recreated.

    _______

     

    "Forget conventionalisms; forget what the world thinks of you for stepping out of your place; think your best thoughts, speak your best words, work your best works, looking to your own conscience for approval. * I had rather...make history than write it. * Failure is impossible."  - Susan B. Anthony

     

     

    "In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different. * Life isn't about finding yourself, it's about creating yourself. * A girl should be two things: Who and What she wants."  - Coco Chanel

     

     

    "Now and then women should do for themselves what men have already done - occasionally what men have not done - thereby establishing themselves as persons, and perhaps encouraging other women toward greater independence of thought and action. Some such consideration was a contributing reason for my wanting to do what I so much wanted to do."  - Amelia Earhart

     

     

    "Be of good cheer. Do not think of today's failures, but of the success that may come tomorrow. You have set yourself a difficult task, but you will succeed if you persevere; and you will find a joy in overcoming obstacles. Remember, no effort that we make to attain something beautiful is ever lost. * What I am looking for is not out there. It is in me."  - Helen Keller

     

     

    "My family has very strong women. My mother never laughed at my dream of Africa, even though everyone else did because we didn't have any money, because Africa was the 'Dark Continent,' and because I was a girl. * What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make."  - Jane Goodall

     

     

    Set aside the Barbie dolls and the Disney Princesses for just a moment, and let's show our girls the real women they can be.

    _______

     

    I, too, have nothing against Barbies and Disney Princesses. But I love this because there are also real women for our daughters to know about and look up to. Beautiful women. With beautiful dreams. Who succeeded and had failures, but who persevered and made a real difference. I'm definitely going to make sure my daughter knows about the real inspirations out there. Whether they were extraordinary in traditional roles or not.

    When I was in 9th grade, I wrote a paper on Marie Curie. I would add her to my list. Julia Child, too (I find her work during World War II particularly interesting). Who would you add to yours?

     

Comments (6)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Categories